Foodie Photos

Welcome Daylight Savings Time!

At least that’s what I said this morning when I was getting an extra hour of sleep! Now it’s been dark for almost two hours already this evening and I can’t even…  BUT looking forward my morning runs being a bit lighter for a while at least!

It has been an excellent weekend all-around. I was able to spend time with almost all of the closest people in my life at one point or another. As an added bonus, I busted out my camera after I did some food prep. It’s been too long and it has got me excited about the things I like about photography again.

Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Brussel Sprouts
Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Brussel Sprouts

Beautiful for fall AND delicious. (Recipe via The Food Charlatan) Yes, I’ve admittedly already eaten some for Sunday dinner even though it was part of food prep for the week. I realize my prep and presentation skills still need a lot of work, but hopefully it can be appreciated for the concept. I’m putting this on the list for a Thanksgiving meal.

Although not quite as charismatic, I prepared some Brown Basmati Rice as a part of food prep Sunday. The lighting leaves a lot to be desired, and possibly the texture of the rice (LOL), but it gives me another area to work on.

Brown Basmati Rice
Brown Basmati Rice

Not only did it get me excited about photography in general again, but it sent me on a shopping trip for some more food prop ideas. I saved a brown grocery bag for texture and purchased a couple of tiles – one light and one dark – from the home improvement store. As you can see above, the color of my kitchen counter is not exactly ideal depending on subject matter.

I’ve spent so much time neglecting some of my personal hobbies outside of racing (Spartan, trail) that maybe the winter months will allow me to focus on those again without taking away from my fitness activities. Here’s to the next season!

 

 

Leave a Reply

