Photo Saturday

I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve been terribly slow at getting to know my camera. In fact today has been one of those days where I took the initiative to experiment some with lighting and customizing the settings on my camera. My brother is also into photography and is strides ahead of me in working with the settings on his own camera. Regardless, today I wanted to take advantage of the natural light and see what I could come up with.

My biggest takeaway today was the white balance setting. I take most of my photos in “P” mode which allows me to make adjustments (not that I do), but today I did! And look what I found…
White balance difference

The difference was almost mind blowing! I had thought the first photo looked a little dark for the amount of light that I had, so that motivated me to play with the settings a bit. I’m sure they could be customized more to make the second photo even better, but it shows what a huge difference it can make for your photos! And you’ll soon see why the chair was the focus of this experiment…

I was doing some cleaning and cruising through some magazines – Food & Wine, Good Housekeeping, Marie Claire – and came across a recipe for Whole Wheat Focaccia Bread. I skimmed the ingredients and realized I had most of what it needed, not to mention it would help me use up some of the whole wheat flour I had purchased for another recipe. So, long story short I whipped up this bread referencing this recipe and this recipe. (The recipe in the magazine was a little bit more extensive than what I had.)

And what do you do when you make Focaccia? Well have a photo shoot of course!

Whole Wheat Focaccia Bread

I realize there are several things wrong with this photo (small cutting board, steak knife, the bread itself, etc.) I’m kinda proud of this photo. I like the light, the background, although I know a darker background would have provided me more contrast and getting back into photoshop again in my free time.

I’ll leave you something pretty with for the day for good measure. What is happening on your Saturday? I’m getting ready to watch the Belmont!

petunias

Leave a Reply

